Thistle logo

Key Contacts


Lerwick Thistle who are nicknamed the Jags were formed in 1902 and apart from the two world wars and a period from 1956 to 1963 the club has always been in existence. It was one of the original teams setup in Shetland and has existed to provide football for families in Lerwick.

Traditionally Thistle play in Light blue and maroon but in recent years maroon in no longer seen on the Jags strips. Thistle used to only have one single team but since the 1970’s the club has played its part in developing Shetland football and currently have eight teams from under 7’s up to the Senior A team. Thistle run winter training from October through to March and anyone wishing to get involved should contact the appropriate manager. The summer outdoor season generally runs then from April until the beginning of September.

Lerwick Thistle’s first league success came in 1934 but their most successful period came more recently between 1992 and 2000 when the Lerwick team won the premier league an incredible seven times out of a possible nine. Thistle have also enjoyed great success in the domestic cup competitions winning the Madrid cup thirteen times, Manson cup eight times, Fraser cup four times and the County Shield nine times. Lerwick Thistle did endure a baron spell of five years without a trophy until their penalty shoot out success in 2011 taking the Fraser Cup on penalties with victory over the reigning league champions Whalsay. Thistle’s most recent triumph came in 2016, winning the County Shield following a 2-1 victory after extra time over town rivals Lerwick Celtic.

For the future Thistle will support both the Senior and Junior football associations and try and develop good junior teams for the ultimate aim of gaining success for Lerwick Thistle Senior teams.

Lerwick Thistle – Fraser Cup Winners 2011

Squad List

Callum Anderson
Fraser Bell
Gavin Bell
Robert Burgess
Jonathan Cheattle
John-Scott Cluness
Adam Cornick
Ben Dade
Ryan Davies
Brian Dobson
Michael Duncan
Liam Evans
Scott Evans
Stuart Ferguson
Mario Ficzere
Kevin Gifford
Liam Graham
Charlie Hadden
Ian Harkness
Aiden Jamieson
Callum Johnson
Bobby Kirk
Calvin Leask
Eion Leask
Eion Leask
Eion Leask
Mario Liczerf
Stevie Michael
Travis Morgan
Ross Nicholson
Connor Odie
Kieran Odie
Kingsley Ozuzu
Corey Pearson
Aaron Peart
Jon Pulley
Khalid Rasul
Neil Riddell
Harry Ross
Ryan Scott
Ivar Shannon
Gary Sim
Tonnie Sim
Stuart Smith
Gordon Stevenson
Kennedy Stewart
Thomas Stewart
Garry Sutherland
Saul Swanson
Stuart Tait
Kevin Teale
Kristoffer Thomason
Adam Thomson
Peter Tomlinson
Scott Tomlinson
Jake Watt
Magnus Watt
Karl Williamson
Maurice Williamson
Maurice Williamson
Regan Williamson

Match Reports