Shetland FC to face SAFA Select

The senior football season comes to a close this weekend with the final of the County Shield being contested between holders Thistle and Whalsay on Saturday afternoon at 2pm. Following several weather related cancellations, the semi-finals were finally played this week with Whalsay seeing off Delting on penalties and Thistle notching an impressive 1-0 victory over Ness Utd.

And on Sunday, Shetland FC are up against a Scottish Amateur FA Select team who are travelling to the isles for the first time in over a decade. The select side will no doubt provide a stern test for the Shetland team who haven’t played since their 2-0 victory over Orkney at the end of July.

The Scottish select side are travelling up on Friday night with an 18-man squad, made up of players from Aberdeen, Dundee, Perth and Fife and face a Shetland Works League select on Saturday afternoon before the clash with Shetland FC on Sunday. The match will be played at the Gilbertson Park with a 2.30pm kick off.

County assistant manager Kevin Main admits little is known about the opponents this weekend but is looking forward to the challenge and the match will certainly provide valuable experience for the Shetland players as they enter into the winter schedule.

Main has a strong side to select from with many of the intercounty starters available for selection. Midfielders Jack Clubb and Finn Watt are the only two from the starting 11 against Orkney who are unavailable for selection while substitutes Stuart Copland and Richard Sinclair will also miss out.

However John Allan, Bobby Scott, Ryan Grant, Stuart Farmer and Magnus Thompson who all featured in Gotland are available while Calvin Leask, who missed out in both the Island Games and Intercounty, is also back in contention.

Shetland Squad to face SAFA Select: Saul Swanson (Thistle), Grant Wood (Spurs), Piotr Drozdowski (Whitedale), Joel Bradley (Celtic), Richard Arthur (Whalsay), Ryan Grant (Celtic), Liam Flaws (Ness Utd), Leighton Flaws (Delting), Stuart Farmer (Ness Utd), James Farmer (Ness Utd), James Aitken (Celtic), John Allan (Scalloway), Bobby Scott (Whitedale), Magnus Thompson (Whalsay), Calvin Leask (Thistle), Sam Maver (Spurs) & Greg Tulloch (Whitedale).

SAFA Select: Michael Calder (Broughty United), Leonard Ewing (Menzieshill), Scott Methven (Leven United), Ryan Davidson (Sportsmans Club), Dan Smith (Carnoustie Panmure), Andrew Melville (Broughty United), Ian McLean (Menzieshill), Alan Lloyd (MS United), Sean Ferrie (Letham), Martin Paul (Sportsmans Club), Terry Connell (Douglas Athletic), Jake Stewart (Rothie Rovers), Ryan Kenneth (Douglas Athletic), Keith Walker (Rothie Rovers), Sammy Mitchell (Bowhill Rovers), Billy Carle (St Johns), Lee McKenzie (Sportsmans Club) & Mike Gunn (MS United).