Shetland FA Hold Successful 2016 AGM

The Shetland Football Association’s 2016 AGM was held last night at Clickimin with the outcome of the meeting thankfully proving more positive than the previous year. Following the need for an emergency general meeting last year, the importance of filling all the positions on the committee was strongly intimated to all member clubs and the four vacant posts were indeed filled.

President Magnus Flaws opened the meeting with his report, thanking all clubs for their participation in the previous season and in particular congratulating Spurs and the North Isles on their respective league victories. Flaws also thanked his fellow committee members for their hard work over the year and hoped for similar dedication in the following campaign.

Following the Treasurer’s report from Brian Johnston, the election of the office bearers was then carried out with a few new faces being added to the committee. President Magnus Flaws, Secretary Brydon Robertson, Treasurer Brian Johnston, Press Secretary James Aitken and Bs Fixture Secretary John Borrill all remained in their roles.

For the vacant positions, John Johnson agreed to take on vice-presidency; Robert Smith was appointed As fixture secretary; Jordan Simpson volunteered to be sponsorship co-ordinator; and the pending players registrations and discipline secretary is Craig Leslie.

Ian Irvine, Davy MacDonald, Michael Duncan, Irvine Burgess, Robbie McGregor and Stephen Leask make up the board of independent members.

There were also a couple of rule changes that were agreed on the night. Firstly, the suspension for a player found to have played when ineligible has been reduced from five games to three games. And the number of named As players now able to play in a Bs game has been increased from one to two.

The 2017 monthly meetings will commence in January and as usual, all member clubs will be expected to attend.