All Committee Roles Filled with Smith Appointed President

The SFA are delighted to announce all committee roles have once again been filled as we move closer to the return of senior football on the Isles! The two remaining vacant posts were filled at last night’s EGM with Iain Smith being elected as President and Melanie Hall appointed Treasurer.

The final two positions finish a 10-strong committee with Jakob Eunson carrying on as Vice Chairman and Sponsorship co-ordinator and Carol Duncan as minutes secretary.

Further additions to the committee for this season include Ryan Thomson (secretary), Ross Leask (discipline secretary) and Davy Mcdonald (registrations secretary).

Fixtures secretaries Clark Paton and John Borrill and press secretary James Aitken remain in their positions with a host of independent members completing the full compliment.

With uncertainty remaining over when football can return to the Isles, incoming President Smith was in in an upbeat mood at last nights virtual meeting and highlighted the importance of football, and indeed all other sports, in Shetland. His excitement was shared by all, and the positivity of having local football back on the agenda once again was clear to see.

The second major development at last night’s meeting was the addition of West Side Rebels, LK Galaxy and Banks into the Shetland Football Association. The three former Works League teams join Bressay in joining the SFA with discussions now ongoing regarding the format of the Reserve League.

The current committee would like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing office bearers Brydon Robertson and Brian Johnston who have both put in countless hours of work to keep football running smoothly on the isles in recent years.

Both Robertson and Johnston have held active committee roles for several years; were instrumental in the centenary year celebrations; and have helped pave the return of football over the last 12 months.

Keep an eye on this website and the SFA Facebook page for further updates and devolpments in 2021!